20-23 september 2017. Pécs - Hungary
Pécs becomes the first Hungarian city to recieve UNESCO "Learning City" Award
With this award the international organization recognizes and showcases good practice in promoting quality education and lifelong learning opportunities for all at local level. The certificate has been granted to dr. Zsolt Páva, mayor of Pécs, on behalf of Arne Carlson, director of UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL).

As it was highlighted in connection with the application by dr. Zsolt Páva, “the history, culture and international interactions of Pécs all indicate that it is a true learning city. In addition, the University of Pécs is celebrating its 650th anniversary in 2017.”

This is not the first time Pécs has been recognized by UNESCO. Sopianae, predecessor of Pécs in the Roman times had its late Roman Paleochristian cemetery included in the UNESCO World Heritage list in 2000. Furthermore, among the Hungarian world heritage sites this is the only one, which has won itself a place on the UNESCO world heritage list in the category of culture-historical architecture.

The UNESCO Learning City Award has been established to encourage and reward progress achieved in developing learning cities around the world. The Award is conferred on cities that have achieved outstanding progress in building learning cities by implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities, i.e. by:

  • promoting inclusive learning from basic to higher education;
  • revitalizing learning in families and communities;
  • facilitating effective learning for and in the workplace;
  • extending the use of modern learning technologies;
  • enhancing quality and excellence in learning; and
  • fostering a culture of learning throughout life.


2017 Awardees

Sixteen cities across all UNESCO regions have been selected for the UNESCO Learning City Award 2017. All of these cities have made outstanding progress in implementing the Key Features of Learning Cities. The 2017 Awardees are: Bristol (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Câmara de Lobos (Portugal), Contagem (Brazil), Gelsenkirchen (Germany), Giza (Egypt), Hangzhou (China), Larissa (Greece), Limerick (Ireland), Mayo-Baléo (Cameroon), N’Zérékoré (Guinea), Okayama (Japan), Pécs (Hungary), Surabaya (Indonesia), Suwon (Republic of Korea), Tunis (Tunisia), Villa María (Argentina).