20-23 september 2017. Pécs - Hungary
Plenary speakers
Thomas Südhof
Thomas Südhof Stanford University, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, USA
Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine in 2013 for the “discoveries of machinery regulating vesicle traffic, a major transport system in our cells”.

Related events:
- Plenary: Towards a molecular logic of neural circuits (Thomas Südhof)
- Meet the Nobel Prize winner

Thomas Christian Südhof was born in Göttingen, Germany, on Dec. 22 in 1955, obtained his M.D. and doctoral degrees from the University of Göttingen in 1982. He performed his doctoral thesis work at the Max-Planck-Institut für biophysikalische Chemie in Göttingen with Prof. Victor P. Whittaker on the biophysical structure of secretory granules. From 1983-1986, Südhof trained as a postdoctoral fellow with Drs. Mike Brown and Joe Goldstein at UT Southwestern in Dallas, TX, and elucidated the structure, expression and cholesterol-dependent regulation of the LDL receptor gene. Südhof began his independent career as an assistant professor at UT Southwestern in 1986. When Südhof started his laboratory, he decided to switch from cholesterol metabolism to neuroscience, and to pursue a molecular characterization of synaptic transmission. His work initially focused on the mechanism of neurotransmitter release which is the first step in synaptic transmission, and whose molecular basis was completely unknown in 1986. Later on, Südhof's work increasingly turned to the analysis of synapse formation and specification, processes that mediate the initial assembly of synapses, regulate their maintenance and elimination, and determine their properties. Südhof served on the faculty of UT Southwestern in Dallas until 2008, and among others was the founding chair of the Department of Neuroscience at that institution. In 2008, Südhof moved to Stanford, and became the Avram Goldstein Professor in the School of Medicine at Stanford University. In addition, Südhof has been an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute since 1986.

Academic Appointments

Honors & Awards

  • Elected member, National Academy of Sciences (2002)
  • Elected member, Institute of Medicine (2008)
  • Kavli Prize in Neuroscience, Kavli Foundation (2010)
  • Elected member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2010)
  • Lasker~DeBakey Basic Medical Research Award, Albert and Mary Lasker Foundation (2013)
  • Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine, Nobel Foundation (2013)

source and more information: Stanford Medicine